Drakensberg Hiker Reviews

Check out the FaceBook Community Reviews for Drakensberg Hiker here.

EXCELLENT
30 reviews on
Claire Antoinette Mayers
Claire Antoinette Mayers
2021-06-14
recommendsVerified
I had the most incredible experience with the team from The Drakensberg Hiker. It was my first hike ‘overnighting’ in the berg on top of the Amphitheatre. I loved every minute of it and cannot recommend Ian, Bruce and their team enough. What a fantastic set up, they took care of the tents, sleeping bags, food etc… Thank you and you’ll be seeing me again soon!
Read more
Rianne Heijboer
Rianne Heijboer
2021-05-29
recommendsVerified
It is such a treat to go on a hiking trip with Drakensberg Hiker, and a professional, experienced and caring crew. I went on 2 trips, including the Northern traverse, so far, both this year. They take care of everything. All you need to do is pack your own things and enjoy the hike. Ian is very passionate and knowledgeable about the Berg. And he loves people and telling stories. Quite a character. For sure recommended, especially if you want to hike, enjoy nature and have fun without sorting out everything yourself.
Read more
Simon Michael Knott
Simon Michael Knott
2021-05-26
recommendsVerified
The Drakensberg Hiker team are vital for a safe well planned hike up into the Berg.. As the Berg is such a vast and unpredictable environment, there experiance is worth every cent spent. I recommend Drakensberg Hiker 100%, and would not attempt any hikes in the Drakensberg without them leading the way up.
Read more
Aimée Hendriksz
Aimée Hendriksz
2020-02-23
recommendsVerified
I highly recommend Drakensberg Hiker. Their guides are caring and extremely knowledgeable about the fauna & flora of the different terrains.
Read more
Georgia Harvey
Georgia Harvey
2019-07-26
recommendsVerified
The Drakensberg is a place like no other. It’s beautiful mountains look impossible to conquer. Ian is an exceptional guide in that the mountains that look so imposing to us have been his home for years. Whether it is a four day hike up Mafadi, or an overland trip through of Lesotho, Ian knows the land better than most people know their suburb. He goes to great lengths to expose his clients to the raw beauty of the world around them. The overland trip through Lesotho I went on was enriched not only by the delicious food, comfortable transportation and a staggering views, but also Ian’s genuine passion for the country and the people he surrounded himself with. Lesotho is a definite must-see, and I can’t think of anyone more capable of guiding people through it than Ian.
Read more
Hilde Minster
Hilde Minster
2019-06-28
recommendsVerified
I have done a few hikes with Drakensberg Hiker and can really recommend them. Ian is very passionate about what he does. He is very knowledgeable and his knowledge about birds is especially amazing. His porters are excellent; it is a real perk to have you tent and food carried! The tents are pitched, food is cooked and even the dishes get done for you! Ian is very organised and safety conscious. If you are looking for an awesome Drakensberg hike experience, I can really recommend Drakensberg Hiker.
Read more
Alison Chadwick
Alison Chadwick
2019-05-27
recommendsVerified
Just done my first hike with Drakensberg Hiker - makes a huge difference to your load when someone else carries the food and tents on overnight hikes - highly recommended. Ian is very knowledgeable about the berg - he sure can tell a few good stories. Great way to explore the berg.
Read more
Kristin Waeterloos
Kristin Waeterloos
2019-04-24
recommendsVerified
Great adventure/great approach, 'all inclusive', pick up from airport, food, porters, tents. and Drakensberg is an amazing area to hike.
Read more
Leigh Mann
Leigh Mann
2019-04-03
recommendsVerified
Ian and his team delivered a highly professional (and fun) service that ensured a great experience was had by all on the Northern Drakensberg Traverse. We made good friends, learnt a lot and saw the most amazing views South Africa has to offer.
Read more
Ann Bishop
Ann Bishop
2019-03-26
recommendsVerified
Best guide in the country
Read more

Souvenir’s of your Drakensberg Hike with us!

On all of our hikes you have the option to add a Souvenir Bundle to remember your hike by (in addition to the memories that will keep you going for years to come). All these items are available on our shop, but it is so much easier to get them when you do your hike, and benefit from the discounted pricing and not having to wait for us to ship it to you later!

We have different Souvenir Bundles to choose from and they include the following:

Basecamp

‘Basecamp’ Drakensberg Hike Souvenir Bundle (R550.00):

  • a stunning double wall stainless steel DrakensbergHiker 400ml Mug;
  • an orange 750ml DrakensbergHiker Water Bottle;
  • a DrakensbergHiker T-Shirt in orange or black;
  • a DrakensbergHiker Beenie, Sun Hat or Gaiters.

Ascent

‘Ascent’ Drakensberg Hike Souvenir Bundle (R955.00):

  • a stunning double wall stainless steel DrakensbergHiker 400ml Mug;
  • an orange 750ml DrakensbergHiker Water Bottle;
  • a DrakensbergHiker T-Shirt in orange or black;
  • a DrakensbergHiker Beenie, Sun Hat or Gaiters;
  • a thin DrakensbergHiker fleece top.

Summit

‘Summit’ Drakensberg Hike Souvenir Bundle (R1400):

  • a stunning double wall stainless steel DrakensbergHiker 400ml Mug;
  • an orange 750ml DrakensbergHiker Water Bottle;
  • a DrakensbergHiker T-Shirt in orange or black;
  • a DrakensbergHiker Beenie, Sun Hat or Gaiters;
  • a thick DrakensbergHiker fleece top.

On all our hike inquiry forms you can select the Souvenir Bundle of your choice, you will also have the option to select the size/s of the T-Shirts and Fleeces in your chosen bundle :-)

Thabana Ntlenyana, highest peak in the Drakensberg

Souvenir’s of your Drakensberg Hike with us!

On all of our hikes you have the option to add a Souvenir Bundle to remember your hike by (in addition to the memories that will keep you going for years to come). All these items are available on our shop, but it is so much easier to get them when you do your hike, and benefit from the discounted pricing and not having to wait for us to ship it to you later!

We have different Souvenir Bundles to choose from and they include the following:

Basecamp

‘Basecamp’ Drakensberg Hike Souvenir Bundle (R550.00):

 
  • a stunning double wall stainless steel DrakensbergHiker 400ml Mug;
  • an orange 750ml DrakensbergHiker Water Bottle;
  • a DrakensbergHiker T-Shirt in orange or black;
  • a DrakensbergHiker Beenie, Sun Hat or Gaiters.

Ascent

‘Ascent’ Drakensberg Hike Souvenir Bundle (R955.00):

  • a stunning double wall stainless steel DrakensbergHiker 400ml Mug;
  • an orange 750ml DrakensbergHiker Water Bottle;
  • a DrakensbergHiker T-Shirt in orange or black;
  • a DrakensbergHiker Beenie, Sun Hat or Gaiters;
  • a thin DrakensbergHiker fleece top.

Summit

‘Summit’ Drakensberg Hike Souvenir Bundle (R1400):

 
  • a stunning double wall stainless steel DrakensbergHiker 400ml Mug;
  • an orange 750ml DrakensbergHiker Water Bottle;
  • a DrakensbergHiker T-Shirt in orange or black;
  • a DrakensbergHiker Beenie, Sun Hat or Gaiters;
  • a thick DrakensbergHiker fleece top.

On all our hike inquiry forms you can select the Souvenir Bundle of your choice, you will also have the option to select the size/s of the T-Shirts and Fleeces in your chosen bundle :-)

Thabana Ntlenyana, highest peak in the Drakensberg
+27 33-396 3906
+27 72-947 1174
ian@drakensberghiker.co.za